A unique and serene place that stands at the site of the former American Embassy.

The August 7th Memorial Trust owns and manages the August 7th Memorial Park.

The Trust is a Kenyan non-profit organization established in 1999 to take ownership of land in Nairobi at the former site of the U.S. Embassy.

The Trust’s mandate is

“to be a centre of remembrance and peace-building.”

The Trustees main task is:

  1. To hold the land in trust for the benefit of the Kenyan Public.
  2. To establish, develop, maintain and manage for the use of the public, a Memorial Park on the said land in memory and honor of the victims of the 7th August 1998 terrorist bomb attack which took the lives of 218 innocent people and injured several thousand others, many permanently.

The Trust was also set up with the object of fostering goodwill and peace among men with a view of preventing a repeat attack, and has set up a Visitors Memorial Peace Centre where school students and the public are taught the importance of living in harmony with each other, their neighbors, and the need to condemn acts of violence in society so that peace can prevail.”

The Park is dedicated to the mission of both remembrance and peace building as it relates to both domestic and international terrorism and violence.

The Trust is sustained through the gate entrance, hire of the park’s conference facilities to the public, sponsorship, charitable donations and fundraising efforts.



NameCompany Board Members Occupation Position
Mr. James KiraguKiragu & Mwangi LtdManaging DirectorChairman
Mr. Chris KirubiHaco (K) LTD & DHL- KenyaChairmanTrustee
Mr. Nazim MithaConsultantSpecialist ConsultantTrustee
Mr. George KagiriArchitectArchiterion ArchitectsTrustee
Mr. Charles AppletonKPMGPartner-KPMGTrustee
Mirembe NantongoEmbassy of the United States of America, NairobiDeputy Chief of MissionTrustee
Mr. Martin BarnardAlive and KickingDirectorTrustee
Ms. Eva MurayaColour Creations LtdManaging DirectorTrustee
Ms. Christine AgimbaGovernment of KenyaDeputy Solicitor GeneralTrustee
Mr.Bill LayEast African Portland CementChairmanTrustee
Mr. Stanley MuchiriCooperative BankChairmanTrustee